Only (A Prawn In Whitby) cover art

Only (A Prawn In Whitby)

Release date 2 September 1989

Record label Imaginary

Tracklisting (click on a song title for lyrics)

  1. Only (A Prawn In Whitby) (single version)
  2. Only (A Prawn In Whitby)
  3. Living In The Past
  4. Everybody Works So Hard


Carl Puttnam (vocals)
Mike Dunphy (guitar & keyboards)
William Potter (bass guitar)
Steve Goodwin (drums) Denise Sumpter (cello)
Tris Williams (extra drums)
Alaric Neville (production, tracks 1 & 2)
Richard Formby (production, tracks 1 & 2)
Dale Griffin (production, tracks 3 & 4)
Rogue Sub Genius Clench (sleeve design)


It was suggested that 'Only' was written after the band had seen the superstar of pop, Morrisey while on a day trip to the seaside resort. At that time Mozza had taken a very public and militant stand for vegetarianism. However, the CUD band would have you believe they saw him sampling the fine prawns of Whitby. The man in question turned out to not be Morrissey but a lookalike.

The original tile of the song was "Only (A Day In Clichy)"

ONlay (A Prawn In Whitby) featured at Number 15 in John Peel's Festive Fifty, 1989

Tracks 3 & 4 were originally recorded as a Peel Session.

Track 3, "Living In The Past" is a Jethro Tull cover.