Hey! Wire cover art

Hey! Wire

Release date May 1990

Record label Imaginary

Tracklisting (click on a song title for lyrics)

  1. Hey! Wire
  2. Purple Love Balloon
  3. Possession


Carl Puttnam (vocals)
Mike Dunphy (guitar & keyboards)
William Potter (bass guitar)
Steve Goodwin (drums)
Dave Gregory (production, track 1)
Phil Darke (engineer, track 1)
Dolan Hewison, Justin Carawford & Cud (prodcution, tracks 2 &3)
Dave Creffield (engineer, tracks 2& 3)
Carl Flint & Woodrow Phoenix (sleeve design)


The A-side (Hey! Wire) was recorded at The Thatched Cottage. The two B-sides were recorded at Patchbay Studios in Leeds. Folan Hewison and Justin Crawford who produced these two tracks were members of the Manchester based group New Fast Automatic Dafodils.

"Hey! Wire" was the first Cud release to be made available on the new-fangled CD format.

On 27 May 1990, "Hey! Wire" entered the UK singles charts at No. 104