Leggy Mambo cover art

When In Rome, Kill Me

Original release date 1990
Record label Imaginary

Reissue date May 2008
Record label Cherry Red

Tracklisting (click on a song title for lyrics)

  1. Now! (2'24)
  2. Heart (3:54)
  3. Hey, Boots (2:47)
  4. Love In a Hollow Tree (4:32)
  5. Love Mandarin (3:45)
  6. Not Exactly D.L.E.R.C. (2:26)
  7. Robinson Crusoe (3:19)
  8. Eau Water (3:30)
  9. Carl's 115th Coach Trip Nightmare (3:30)
  10. Magic (3:54)
  11. Syrup and Sour Grapes (2:54)
  12. Brain on a Slow Train (4:42)

Extra tracks (2008 remaster)

  1. Robinson Crusoe (Patchbay Demo)
  2. Now! (Patchbay Demo)
  3. Eau Water (Patchbay Demo)
  4. L.O.P.H.E.
  5. Love Mandarin (Alternatiive Version)
  6. Magic (Extended Farsley Mix|)


Carl Puttnam (vocals)
Mike Dunphy (guitar & keyboards)
William Potter (bass guitar)
Steve Goodwin (drums & percussion)
Mickey Dale (keyboards on Magic)
Tris Williams (bongos)
Dave Creffield (engineer & producer)
Dave Gregory (producer)


The Space Baby on the cover art was purchased in Poland by Steve during the band's European tour the previous Decemeber.

The name of the record comes from a nonsense lyric in the song "Not Exactly D.L.E.R.C." The line "Leggy Mambo Gold Top Copy..." comprises the first name of Beatles parody band, The Rutles manager, Leggy Mountbatten, plus a word chosen randomly from a dictionary and Mike’s model Gibson guitar.

Rejected album titles included 'Certain Ring', 'Queer Pitch', 'Planet Wobblers' and 'CUD 2'.